| Contact Details | Research Output | Research Fields and Staff | Departmental Statistics

Head of Department:  Professor B.M. Mayosi

Departmental Profile

The Department consists of 21 clinical divisions and 10 major research units. The clinical divisions are Acute General Medicine, Cardiology, Clinical Haematology, Clinical Immunology, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Skills Centre, Critical Care Medicine, Dermatology, Emergency Unit, Endocrinology and Diabetes Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, General Medicine, Hepatology, Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine, Lipidology, Medical Gastroenterology, Medical Genetics Unit, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Occupational Medicine Unit, Pulmonology, and Rheumatology.

The Department has 10 major Research Units: Albertina and Walter Sisulu Institute of Ageing in Africa, Centre for excellence for Chronic Disease in Sub-Saharan Africa, Desmond Tutu HIV Research Centre, Hatter Institute for Cardiovascular Research, Lennox Eales Porphyria Lab, Lung Infection & Immunity Unit, Mycobacterial Immunology Group, UCT Leukaemia Unit, UCT Lung Institute and MRC/UCT Drug Discovery & Development (DDD) Research Unit.


Back to top