| Research Output | Contact Details

Head of Division: Professor D. Govender

The Division of Anatomical Pathology has both diagnostic and academic sections.  The diagnostic laboratories form part of the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS) complex at Groote Schuur and Red Cross War Memorial Children’s hospitals. The diagnostic laboratories are based at both sites and provide diagnostic surgical pathology, cytopathology and autopsy services to GSH, RCCH, the academic hospital complex and associated hospitals and clinics in the Coastal region.  The Division also serves as a public and private tertiary referral centre for renal and liver pathology, neonatal/foetal pathology, neuropathology, soft tissue and bone tumours, immunohistochemistry and electron microscopy. The new NHLS-GSH Anatomical Pathology laboratory was completed in 2010. 

These service commitments drive most of the research programmes that are patient and disease orientated.  The Division hosts over 40 clinicopathological meetings per month with various clinical disciplines.

The academic/university section is situated in the Falmouth building, Faculty of Health Sciences.  For many years the Division functioned without a research laboratory.  In 2011 the Division’s research laboratory will be completed.  We look forward to this new development.

The Divisional research is focused on diseases that are common in South Africa – these include tuberculosis, cardiomyopathy, foetal-alcohol syndrome and various cancers, in particular those affecting disadvantaged population groups, such as oesophageal, gastric, breast, cervical, colorectal and hepatocellular carcinomas and childhood cancers. 

The Division has active collaborations internationally with United Kingdom, New York, Oxford and Malawi and locally with the divisions of Medicine, Surgery, Cardiology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Radiation Oncology, Human Genetics and Medical Biochemistry. 

The Division has extensive teaching commitments to postgraduates, medical students, health and rehabilitation students and medical technology students and remains committed to contributing to teaching programmes. Training of registrars in the Division remains a high priority.  Included is a molecular pathology programme that addresses the education and training requirements of young pathologists, technologists and scientists, specifically in the Division. 

Associate Professor Helen Wainwright, principal specialist in the Division of Anatomical Pathology, has been elected President of the International Paediatric Pathology Association.  She will serve a 2 year term from 2012.

"Pauline Hall book prize” award (This award is given to a postgraduate student who has conducted research in Hepatobiliary Pathology): Dr Michael Locketz received the "Pauline Hall book prize" award for his MMed dissertation titled "Fibrolamellar carcinoma of the liver: An immunohistochemical study".  He completed his MMed degree in 2009.

 PathVine 2010: “The Diagnostech award for best oral presentation by a registrar”: Dr Nicole Morse received this award for her presentation entitled: "Morphometric analysis of endomyocardial biopsy specimens from the South African Arrythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy Registry".

Distinguished visitors:

Dr Andrew Wotherspoon, consultant pathologist at the Royal Marsdon Hospital, London since 1996, and The British Division of the IAP sponsored Visitor: gave a talk to the department on Non-neoplastic manifestations of EBV in lymph nodes.  He gave a second talk at Tygerberg on an Overview of Lymphomas in the United Kingdom: August/September 2010

Dr Marie-Anne Brundler: who participated in the 3rd module of the M Phil Course in April.

Prof PK Ramdial: gave a travelling slide seminar. 

Elective registrars:

Patricia Okira(Kenya): spent time in the department

Adriana Mello (Brazil):  spent time in the department. 



Prof Peter Beighton & Greta Beighton from the Division of Human Genetics, Faculty of Health Sciences, UCT.

Angela Loyse, Graeme Meintjies, Jo Jarvis & Tom Harrison from GF Jooste Hospital & the United Kingdom

Department of Cardiology

Collaboration with Department of Dermatology

Dr Zoe Momberg, Fetal medicine Unit

Dr Michelle Pentecost & Dr Sean Burmeister from Dept of Surgery & Gastroenterology

Graeme Meintjies

Dr S Cox , Prof J Wilmshurst , Prof M Klein RCCH


David Russell,  Gilla Kaplan, Tracie Seimon, Mi-Jeong Kim  from Microbiology & Immunology, College of Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University

Prof R Chetty, Univeristy of Glasgow, United Kingdom

Dr J Heinz United Kingdom

Prof C Sewry United Kingdom

Dr T Govender UKZN

Dr S Kamiza Malawi


Back to top