| Research Output | Research Fields and Staff | Departmental Statistics | Contact Details

(Including the Research Diving Unit)

Head of Department: Professor Frank Shillington

Departmental Profile

The Department of Oceanography is the only such Department in sub-Saharan Africa, and is the major focus for research in physical oceanography, atmospheric science and ocean circulation and climate in South Africa and elsewhere in Africa. The Department has research groupings in sea-going observations, satellite marine remote sensing, coastal oceanography, numerical modelling, marine and coastal meteorology, and climate variability. Future research is expected to pave the way to the science underpinning operational oceanography. Six scientists in the Department have been favourably evaluated in the review process of the National Research Foundation. Active international associations are maintained by collaborative projects with the Netherlands, France, Germany, Australia, USA and the European Union. The Department maintains close contact with marine science activities in the governmental, private and academic sectors in South Africa and into Africa. The UCT Research Diving Unit (RDU) is housed within the Department and is fully equipped with a decompression chamber and compressor. Most scientific diving at UCT is carried out in conjunction with the RDU.


Back to top