The DST/NRF SARChI Programme is a brain-gain and research capacity development intervention by the DST. Administered by the NRF, the programme was launched in 2006 to grow research capacity in South Africa.

UCT was awarded nine of the 21 chairs allotted in 2006 and a further 17 of the 51 allotted in 2007 – notably more than any other university. An additional chair in Development Policy Research was awarded to UCT in 2009, bringing the total number of SARChI Research Chairs at the University to 28 out of 82 awarded so far.

New Chairs in 2010

As in 2009, opportunity to apply for new chairs in 2010 was extremely limited. However, the NRF awarded UCT a new Strategic Chair in Nano-Science, which will be located in the DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in catalysis, c*change. In addition to being awarded the Chair, UCT also managed to successfully recruit a world-renowned researcher, Professor Claude Carignan, to take up the Square Kilometre Array Chair, awarded to the University at the end of 2009.

Existing Chairs

The existing Chairholders continue to operate as staff and student clusters that conduct research in specific areas. The SARChI structures are successful incubators of excellence and have increased the intake of postgraduate students across the university. All the Chairs have established themselves and are making good progress towards delivering their objectives. The financial value of SARChI grants in 2010 was in excess of R82 million.

SARChI Chairholders at UCT

Professor Jonathan Blackburn (Applied Proteomics and Chemical Biology)

Professor HaroonBhorat (Economic Growth, Poverty, and Inequality)

Professor Frank Brombacher (Immunology of Infectious Diseases in Africa)

Professor Claude Carignan (Square Kilometre Array: Extragalactic Multiwavelength Astronomy)

Professor Kelly Chibale (Drug Discovery)

Dr Marc Combrinck (Clinical Neurosciences Research)

Dr Erwin de Blok (Astrophysics and Space Science)

Associate Professor KeertanDheda (Lung Infection and Immunity in Poverty Related Diseases)

Professor Jean-Paul Franzidis (Minerals Beneficiation)

Professor Carolyn Hamilton (Archive and Public Culture)

Professor Susan Harrison (Bioprocess Engineering)

Professor Bruce Hewitson (Climate Change)

Professor ChumaHimonga (Customary Law, Dignity and Human Rights)

Associate Professor David Jacobs (Animal Evolution and Systematics)

AssociateProfessor Astrid Jarre (Marine Ecology and Fisheries)

Professor Murray Leibbrandt (Poverty and Inequality Research)

Professor Di McIntyre (Health and Wealth in SA)

Associate Professor Ernesta Meintjes (Brain Imaging)

Professor RajendMesthrie (Migration, Language and Social Change)

Associate Professor Kevin Naidoo (Scientific Computing)

Professor LungisileNtsebeza (Land Reform and Democracy in SA: State and Civil Society Dynamics)

Professor Iqbal Parker (Cancer Biology)

Professor George Philander (Modelling of the Coupled Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Phenomena Related to Climate)

Professor Edgar Pieterse (Urban Policy)

Professor Daya Reddy (Computational Mechanics)

Professor Clifford Shearing (Security and Justice)

Professor AbdulkaderTayob (Islam, African Publics and Religious Values)

Professor Anna-Lise Williamson (Vaccinology)


Back to top